Great Story, really feel like you are part of the it. I read a lot of books and this is one of the best I have read in a long time!
Excellent use of landmarks and locations that I have actually visited. Brought back some great memories too!
A must read!
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!
Amazon Reviewer Wally G on October 16, 2016

A very satisfying read; a real page turner. Has everything - suspense, romance, world of theater, 1950s. I couldn't put it down - so anxious to find out how the story ends.
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner.
Amazon Reviewer Philip Meranus on August 29, 2016

Loved this book. It is intriguing and exciting. I couldn't put it down. It would make a great movie.
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book
Amazon Reviewer Nita Myers on October 7, 2016

Enjoyed the book very much - can hardly wait for the next one - thanks Lee
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Amazon Reviewer Mary Lou Daines on October 2, 2016

A really nice read-captivating,good story.Like to see more!
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable!
Amazon Reviewer Jimcamp on September 20, 2016

Loved the book. The book takes place in many places and cities which makes one feel they are all over the world including a cruise ship!
The main character is portrayed as very human who experiences his highs and lows in life. I could not put the book down and found it extremely pleasant to read. I highly recommend the book !
5.0 out of 5 stars Travelers will love this book
Amazon Customer on August 21, 2016

The well written development of the main character and the inside knowledge of the broadway stage makes Mr Welling's first novel outstanding!!!
The fast pace action and the many surprising twists and turns made for a great read. The story would make for a terrific film!
I am anxiously await Mr Welling's next piece of work!
5.0 out of 5 stars The fast pace action and the many surprising twists and turns made for a great read. The story would make for a terrific movie.
Amazon Customer on December 3, 2016

A GREAT READ! Lee has written an interesting and thoughtful book that made me anxious to get to the next page to see what happens next!
It covers a fascinating, and scary, period of our history with a very unique twist. It may be one of the few books that over the years I have decided to read a SECOND TIME!
5.0 out of 5 stars. Wonderfully written!
Amazon Reviewer Peter A. on August 22, 2016

The book was a very interesting read, and it did have many subplots that i did not expect. the story was a very fast read and we could not put it down to the very end !!!!! cannot wait to read his next book ! 
5.0 out of 5 stars great read
Amazon Customer on October 1, 2016

I enjoyed reading it as much as anything I have read. It was quick reading, and you never wanted to put it down.The story flowed nicely. The characters were easy to like, even as you changed there persona as the story went along,
5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed reading it as much as anything I have read
Amazon Reviewer Joe Bell on August 22, 2016

I love a book I can sink my teeth into and this it! Started reading it and had a hard time putting it down. George was an interesting character and kept me guessing what would be his fate. Recommend for a good read.
5.0 out of 5 stars A Thriller to the end
Amazon Reviewer Marylin Newman on August 21, 2016

This is a very well written suspense and love story with some unexpected twists. George goes from star to bit player; you need to read the story. I think you'll enjoy it.
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Amazon Customer on November 23, 2016

Very interesting plot line as the character develops along with the story of the Cuban Missle Crises. if you loke history,Broadway and Cape Cod, this book is for you. I cant wait for the sequel.
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like history,Broadway and Cape Cod , this book is for you
Amazon Reviewer Dr. Alan B. Schreier on August 16, 2016

Loved the book! It grabbed me from page one. I couldn't turn the pages fast enough and can't wait for the next installment! Highly recommend this book.
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the book
Amazon Reviewer Ina S. Segel on August 20, 2016

Lee Welling, a great first novel. If Mr. Welling keeps writing like this, he won't be unknown for long. I am looking forward to the next novel.
5.0 out of 5 stars A great first novel
Amazon Reviewer mms19j on August 24, 2016

Great read. Roller coaster ride until the end. Cold War thriller that is relevant today! Can't wait for the next one!
5.0 out of 5 starsGreat read. Roller coaster ride until the end
Amazon Reviewer Michael W. on August 17, 2016

A quick read, action driven plot, interesting characters and locations. Could easily be made into a movie.
4.0 out of 5 stars Could easily be made into a movie
Amazon Reviewer Mike A. on August 17, 2016

A "great read". Can't wait to read the next installment of the trilogy.
5.0 out of 5 stars.  A "Great Read".
Amazon Customer on November 9, 2016

A Sample of Reviews

The Actor?

Lee Welling

The Actor? is the first novel I’ve read by Lee Welling, and I thought it to be very good—excellent writing and a compelling, unpredictable plot set against an intriguing background. I like the fact that it is a fully-realized spy thriller/suspense without all the bloat that can sometimes weigh down a fast-paced book like this one. Welling fills you in as we go without getting bogged down in describing every last thing. The story moves forward and you can't help but get sucked into Welling’s strong narrative. And I haven't even begun to talk about the characters, which were authentic and move the story forward nicely. George is type of lead we like to root for, and I enjoyed watching his relationship with the other characters develop over the course of the action. Some similar themes and motifs found in typical spy/thriller/suspense lore, but Mr. Welling does a fantastic job of putting his own unique spin on them, especially with setting the story in the past and having some time changes. It is written in first person present tense from George’s point of view (mostly) and really works here. Almost flawless editing and really enjoyed the acting/Broadway element as well. The ending is one that will make you want to read more soon! Recommend for fans of espionage/thrillers. (5 stars)

Sherrie Warner—Goodreads; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers


A GREAT READ! Lee has written an interesting and thoughtful book that made me anxious to get to the next page to see what happens next!
It covers a fascinating, and scary, period of our history with a very unique twist. It may be one of the few books that over the years I have decided to read a SECOND TIME!
5.0 out of 5 stars. The Actor!!! Read it!
Amazon Reviewer Peter A. on August 15, 2016


There is much to be said about a novel that reads well. I've mentioned this before in other reviews I’ve written, but a book that keeps you reading long after you plan on putting it down ranks high for me. Not only is it entertaining, but you look forward to getting back into the book each and every time you pick it up, if you have the self-control to ever put it down. That is what reading this book The Actor? by Lee Welling has done for me. Typical of many spy &political thrillers I’ve read, The Actor? has much in the way of grittiness and high-stakes risky political and personal maneuverings, yet it remains inventive. With twists and turns, you won't know who… or what… to believe. The plot moved quickly and even though some traditional thriller archetypes show up, it is not in the usual way, which is refreshing. There is lots of action and unpredictable twists and turns throughout. An interesting blend of real life events and people, and creative fictional storyline. A very strong effort by Lee Welling and I will be looking forward to reading more from him in the future. Recommended for fans of spy/thrillers/suspense. (4-5 stars)

Gillian Hancock—Goodreads; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers


I couldn't put this book down. George's journey has so many unexpected twists and turns. It's a passionate thriller with a flawed main character you just can't help but love. I hope Lee Welling writes another book soon, can't wait to read it.
5.0 out of 5 stars. Couldn't put this thriller down, great summer read!
Amazon Reviewer Oscar on August 16, 2016
                                                                                                         
I was really a fan of this book by the end, but to be honest I thought the beginning was a bit too slow (after the intriguing opener) and we needed more higher stakes sooner. For me it didn’t really get that exciting until about 30% of the way in (but then I was hooked ‘til the end). But that aside I loved the authentic detailing for the era and the scenes and how George is thrust into the world of high espionage. The story lines are complex and well-developed and lots of great action and plenty of surprises (which while some a tad  detectable at times are still entertaining), lots of fun banter between the protagonists, several other interesting side characters and daunting obstacles to overcome,  all of which is tied together with fast paced quality writing. I thought the dialogue to be nicely done (something I am picky about) and was surprised with how it all wrapped up……but very satisfied, I’ll say. Hope to read more like these from Lee Welling. Fans of the genre will love it! (4 stars)

Claire Middleton—Goodreads; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers

 This was the first book I’ve read by this author Lee Welling, but I certainly hope it’s not the last. He has a gift for writing descriptive and life-like scenes that make us feel like we are really there inside the story, as opposed to it all just being “told” to us, as so many authors make the mistake of doing. I like that this book didn’t feel stale or derivative of every other thriller/spy book out there, but instead like a new niche of political action and suspense that serves well to help diversify a somewhat cookie-cutter genre (in my opinion). George is great, and I also really liked the rest of the supporting cast as well. I was really thrown by the POV switch toward the end, as the whole book had been from George’s POV, then it switched to an omniscient narrator, then first person with a different female character, then another, back to George. Really went of the rails for me and was jarring and confusing.  But they were interesting characters that kept me involved. It was fast paced and shocking at times, but overall the entire novel was one that I thought was well-crafted and delivered an emotional win in the end. Recommend. (4 stars)

Steph Coleman—Goodreads; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers


The Actor? by Lee Welling is a great piece of drama/action/political/ suspense/ thriller fiction no one should miss reading if they are looking for an adventurous, entertaining read that has high stakes and an unpredictable plot… particularly on a wet winter's day (or on a sunny summer's day under the shade of a tree with a snack or two depending on time of year). If you're looking for a work completely lacking in cliché then I must say that you might have a bone to pick with this, as there were many ‘familiar’ elements that made me almost feel at times that I had read it before (I haven’t). But I believe the author's job is not to be completely original (for is there such a thing as true originality, especially in the political spy game?) here but rather to tell a powerful story that stays with you. For I believe that the true future for the genre lies not in becoming ‘newer’ but rather by taking traditional themes and telling them better. This is done quite nicely here and I am impressed with the way that Lee Welling can tell a story in his own way with characters that we love, or love to hate. I looked forward to my reading time each evening and was sad when it was over. I believe this is the author’s debut (couldn’t find any others by him) but it says The Actor? Part Two, the prequel will be available in 2017 – I’d be happy to read it! (3 stars)

Jenna Brewster—Goodreads; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers

To be honest, it took me some time to get into this book, and at first I wasn’t really sure where it was going…after the enticing beginning it seemed to sink into a really slow period of dense telling narrative and focus on the mundane events that really slowed the pacing for me. But then the more I read the more I got into it, and then by half way I was totally hooked.  Mr. Welling did a great job at creating some really interesting characters, and also in keeping us on our toes… some craaaaazy events at the end, and I was so curious to see how it would all work out, but it did. I Loved the ending…. I did notice some minor proofing mistakes, here and there, but nothing major. Overall very well done and I’d recommend this to fans of unique thrillers/espionage novels without hesitation. (3-4 stars)

Carla Biggins—Goodreads; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers

For the most part The Actor? by Lee Welling was an enjoyable, almost lighthearted suspense-thriller (if this makes sense… it just wasn’t as ‘heavy’ and ‘dark’ with graphic violence/language like many I’ve come across, which is great). However at times the impersonal narrative voice made it difficult to get involved in the story, and I frequently felt emotionally detached from all the action. Seemed like it lost focus at times and I really wondered about the need to have so many characters come and go,…While they're still likeable characters, sometimes they don't drive the plot forward fast enough. At times I thought there wasn’t enough tension, and the pace slowed down instead of picking up. The writing and world building is quite solid, however, and as far as the actual story itself I was hooked… after about 1/4 way through. But once I was in I was dying to see what would happen and the ending did not disappoint.  Looking forward to Part 2!! (4 stars)

Karen Matthews—Goodreads; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers

A fantastic read by Lee Welling. The premise was relatively simple (until things get quickly out of hand) but the pacing was decent, with adequate action and elements of danger and mystery, and the book just flew by very quickly for me. I have mentioned before that I’m not particular about prose in general, and I appreciate the lovely manner of storytelling that was employed by the author. Reads very true-to-life, like you can tell that Welling knows well the subjects in which he writes and has a decent grasp of the era with the attention to detailing. Liked that it definitely had high stakes at hand to keep us engaged throughout, and an unexpected ending to the climax. Will easily recommend to fans of political intrigue and espionage novels, and hope the next book isn’t too far off. (4-5 stars)

Stacy Decker—Goodreads; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers 

I found The Actor? by Lee Welling to be extremely well-written and entertaining. There’s lots of action, great character and plot development, flashes of humor, and some surprisingly emotional moments. Some characters are on occasion paper-thin, but they’re mostly likable and serve a purpose, and the heroes are easy to root for, and after the initial ‘setting of the stage’ (pun intended) and story background, there’s simply not a dull moment to be found here. The political world Welling creates occasionally feels like a composite of familiar elements, but there is enough originality so that I don’t feel like I’ve read it before…in fact I think the concept of using a Broadway “actor” as a spy was ingenious! Welling is great at breaking down the unfolding plot into manageable chunks so as not to overshadow the suspense element, and as the story unfolds and you put all those pieces together, you can see that there’s more complexity here than you’d initially expect. I appreciated the cold war element and thought it added a deeper layer to the believable setting. A fast paced read that I didn’t want to put down, especially towards the end. Hope there will be more! (4 stars) Brenda Maxwell—Goodreads; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers

I enjoyed this novel by Lee Welling more than I expected to.  It was easy to read, not overly complicated, just a great story written without dragging things out... It's one of the those books you pick up and just finish before you realized it's over, like eating comfort food, the simplicity, yet action packed pages  and witty dialogue and unpredictable twists were great. I enjoyed the descriptive world building of cold war US/U.S.S.R relations and really felt transported back to that time and place. We never feel ‘safe’ as we are reading as the threat of danger is always near, and rears its ugly head when we least expect it, but that’s what kept me so hooked. When I was finished I closed my Kindle and smiled, for it was a good read.... I'll want read the other books from Lee Welling for sure. (5 stars) Megan King—Goodreads; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers

The Actor? by Lee Welling is fast-paced, high-stakes thriller with exciting twists and turns that will keep you in suspense for hours! In a way this is modeled after a classic political-thriller, but it really impressed me by its originality in many areas and terrific world-building detailing and a substantial (an unpredictable) plot. Welling is a talented author whose creative vision and clever concoction of his spy thrillers breaks new ground but feels comfortingly familiar. This is a story that kept me glued to the pages for hours, lost within an interesting world that fascinated me to no end. I was impressed with not only the clean writing, but that fact that the editing was so good too (rare in ebooks these days). My only complaint was that the narration jumps around suddenly toward the ending of the book (last 1/3 or so) and while I see why it was necessary for the author to do this, it did not work for me and really threw me out of my reading rhythm. But still a fine journey that entertained, and I will gladly read more from Lee Welling anytime! (4 stars)

Laura Clarke—Goodreads; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers 

Amazing! I absolutely loved this book, and I’m usually pretty on the fence about a lot of these types of books…In a way the characters were pretty much what you would expect from the genre, yet they all had their own distinct personalities and enough quirkiness so as not to feel like the cliché stereotypes. All the characters were very different and we never knew their motives so the book left you guessing as you read without making it predictable. Plot was never boring and kept on rolling. (I would give you a summary, but that is what the book description page is for, and there were so many subplots that it would take forever). Writing was smooth and the descriptions made you feel like you were right there in Russia with George and the others. I confess I didn’t *love* the ending…. It just felt a little too confusing and anticlimactic after all that happened, but it was still a compelling read and definitely worth my time. Recommend for fans of spy/drama/thrillers and suspense (4-5 stars).

Layla Messing—Goodreads; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers